Brooklyn’s Finest

Antoine Fuqua (Training Day, Tears of the Sun) directs this tense drama about three New York cops whose paths collide in a Brooklyn housing project where each must make a decision that will change the course of their lives forever. Cynical, washed-up Eddie (Richard Gere) no longer cares about the job or the rules; cash-strapped Sal (Ethan Hawke) sees a shortcut to solvency; and Tango (Don Cheadle) is torn between conflicting loyalties. Ellen Barkin and Wesley Snipes co-star.

Matt
Rating: 8 out of 10

This is one of those movies I rave about to people only to have them turn around and say, “That was awful! It was so dark.”

It’s true, I have a liking for dark cinema, and this is no exception. Antoine Fuqua brings us a sharp film about the more realistic side of being a cop, and it’s a multi-faceted one. There is no one type of anything, let alone police officers. Fuqua does a great job at looking at the world they live in, the crime they see, and the internal and external conflicts they endure. The performances are excellent.

We follow the lives of an undercover officer dealing with drugs and organized crime, a lazy cop seven days from retirement, and a family man who can’t afford to support his family who tries to steal from drug dealers. It’s not an uplifting story by any stretch, but it’s a good one, and it’s ending is unexpected and intense.

Follow us on Twitter!

9 responses to “Brooklyn’s Finest

  1. Antoine Fuqua is hit and miss but I did get this flick in the mail today from Netflix. I’ll check it out.

  2. Hi, as I have been detained from travel to the U.S.A. for over 20 years from Australia, I visit it on the web so I don’t have the difficulties. I do part-time computer programming work from channel 2 in Sydney with lots of complications and crises in connection to employment and employees. I like getting onto the internet and keeping up to date with what’s happening in film in the States. My next search on my agenda notebook is Whit Rock films, U.S.A., “Christina’s House’ for Chiritina’s enquiry related to mine for her financier’s complaints and the connection to the Spanish discrimination position in Australia. I play guitar, and own two electric guitars, and I love Spanish guitar and classical. I have played years ago and gave up. I am supposed to have family connection with Tiger Woods. A lot of humming and hahing here. Bye for now, K. Andoni.

  3. I haven’t seen this, the previews made it seem like the type of movie where the actors are being too actorish. Antoine Fuqua can take these sorts of movies and make them watchable. I think with what he has done in the past, if those movies were in someone else’s hands, like, say, your Renny Harlins, your Joel Schumakers, those movies would have turned out laughable.
    You give it a solid review, so, I’ll keep that in mind.
    Get Low is playing my local arthouse! I can recommend that one to you.

  4. Matt, did you see they’re releasing Grindhouse in its full 2 part theatrical form on October 5th? Good bloody fun!

  5. Agreed… really underrated film. I think Ethan Hawke’s performance here is one of the year’s best so far. His portion of the film was by far the most engaging for me.

  6. Pingback: Operation: Endgame « The Movie Brothers

Leave a Reply

