The Switch

Still single and increasingly attuned to the cacophony of her biological clock, 40-something Kassie (Jennifer Aniston) decides that if she can’t find a mate she’ll still pursue motherhood with the help of a sperm sample that’s not quite as anonymous as she thinks. As the baby grows up, Kassie’s best friend, Wally (Jason Bateman), agonizes over whether to reveal that he secretly replaced the donor sample with his own DNA.

Kyle
Rating: 5 out of 10

I wasn’t quite familiar with this film, as I only saw advertisements and the trailer a few weeks ago. Perhaps I haven’t been avidly following upcoming films as well as I used to, but I don’t think they marketed this film very well… and I see why. I went into this film thinking it was going to be an atypical romantic comedy, seeing they advertised this film with the statement: “From the people that brought you ‘Juno’ and ‘Little Miss Sunshine.’”

However, this film lacks the essence of both of those films. It is much, much more dry with several unintentionally awkward scenes and the inevitable awkwardness of Jeff Goldblum. His earlier work was entertaining, but now I just find him incredibly odd and he doesn’t bring anything interesting to his roles. I was looking forward to seeing Juliette Lewis but I wasn’t really impressed. The story was OK but I find the fact that it took more than ten years of close friendship and a child for Aniston’s and Bateman’s characters to consider being together.

Bateman put on a great performance, proving he his capable of more dramatic roles. I thought for sure that Jennifer Aniston would completely disappoint me, as I am not a fan, but she gave an adequate and tolerable performance. The one actor who caught my eye was Thomas Robinson, the little boy who played Sebastian. His delivery and performance, for someone his age, was quite amazing. All in all, I thought the film was OK, but I probably won’t see it again.

Follow us on Twitter!

2 responses to “The Switch

  1. I’ll never watch this film. It just sounds horrendous.

  2. I liked this film a bit more than you did, but I see your point. The biggest problem for me was that everything just wrapped up so tidily at the end.

    I think one thing we can agree on was little Thomas Robinson’s remarkable ability to channel Jason Bateman. That kid nearly had me to tears a couple times… and I don’t think I’ve ever cried during a movie.

Leave a Reply

