Rushmore

Wunderkind Max Fischer (Jason Schwartzman), a sophomore at upscale Rushmore Academy and the president of myriad school clubs, sees his world turn topsy-turvy when he’s smitten with widowed first-grade teacher Rosemary Cross (Olivia Williams). To win her heart, Max enlists the aid of self-made steel magnate and school benefactor Herman J. Blume (Bill Murray), only to end up vying with the millionaire industrialist for Rosemary’s affections. Directed by Wes Anderson (Fantastic Mr. Fox, The Royal Tenenbaums).

Kyle
Rating: 9 out of 10

I was in the sixth grade the first time I watched this film. I didn’t understand the comedic elements at the time but there was just something about it that appealed to me so much.

It’s been ten years and I still love this film. The world that Wes Anderson creates is so intriguing to me. He presents this retroactive group of people who operates independent of modern society. I don’t think I’ve loved and hated a protagonist as much as Max Fischer. What compliments this film even more is the musical score, in this case and most unsually, by Mark Mothersbaugh.

Also, this film definitely opened up my eyes for Bill Murray’s potential as an actor. For a while, I was getting a little tired of the roles he played but when I saw this I couldn’t believe his performance. When he appeared in more in Wes’ films, as well as “Lost In Translation” and “Broken Flowers,” I was just amazed.

5 responses to “Rushmore

  1. My apologies, there’s a typo in the last sentence of the last paragraph: I should have used “as well as” instead of “such as;” Wes directed neither of those referenced films.

  2. I wish Criterion would get off their ass and put this on blu-ray. It’s a fantastic film.

  3. One of my favorites as well. The soundtrack helped me discover two of my favorite albums, The Who’s Live at Leeds, and, The Kinks Village Green Preservation Society.
    Great review!

  4. Pingback: Top 5 Bill Murray Movies | The Movie Brothers

Leave a Reply

