Greenberg

At a crossroads in his life in New York, Roger Greenberg (Ben Stiller) takes some time to figure things out and travels to Los Angeles, where he house-sits for his brother and forges an unlikely bond with his brother’s assistant, Florence (Greta Gerwig). Noah Baumbach’s (The Squid and the Whale, Margot at the Wedding) directs this relationship comedy also starring Jennifer Jason Leigh and Rhys Ifans.

Matt
Rating: 4 out of 10

I get it that our protagonists aren’t always dashing, heroic, or likable characters. But in this case, I was so annoyed with the character and Stiller’s performance that I couldn’t enjoy this movie.

I think Baumbach is an intriguing director who understands story-telling while pulling great performances from his actors. His films have been fun to watch, and while this movie has a lot of visual style, it’s boring.

Stiller plays a loser who has avoided being happy his entire life by sabotaging it at every turn — he screwed up his band’s contract offer from a label, dates women who won’t make him happy, and keep those who do care about him at bay. There were some nice aspects to this film. I think Baumbach showed Los Angeles in an interesting light, one that’s very normal, kind of gritty and not the usual sexy, crazy location that it isn’t in reality. Stiller wasn’t ready for this role and he was the wrong choice. I didn’t care about any of the characters, and found it to be forgettable.

3 responses to “Greenberg

  1. LOL and thanks for this review. I know it’s a subjective thing how an audience relates, but I agree it takes a lot to make messed-up protagonists into sympathetic characters — and if it doesn’t work, it’s as bad as real life, where you’re dealing with annoying screwups!

  2. I saw this movie a while ago and I remember not liking Stiller’s character very much, but did like his performance. It not what you would expect from Stiller, but I respect that Stiller would take on this risky role. Greta Gerwig also gave a very memorable performance, and I want to see more from her in the future. Not my favorite film, but I did appreciate the performances of the two main characters. This is not a repeat viewing, but I was glad I did give it a shot.

  3. I stopped watching after the abortion scene.

Leave a Reply

