The Movie Brothers Podcast Episode 2

The Movie Brothers welcome regular contributor Kyle Baker for their second podcast episode. We’ve kicked the production way up for this episode, where we discuss a Top Gun sequel, action flick Shoot ‘Em Up, Antichrist, Harry and Tonto and new flicks out on blu-ray.

Thanks for listening!

Download the podcast here.

10 responses to “The Movie Brothers Podcast Episode 2

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention The Movie Brothers Podcast Episode 2 | The Movie Brothers -- Topsy.com

  2. Great podcast guys! Very informative and entertaining, Oh and FYI I don’t have my Laser-disc player anymore but I do still have my more collectible laser-discs like the Original Star Wars Trilogy boxed set, The Criterion’s Halloween and such. I did get a nerdboner, Matt, hearing about Ghostbusters 3, so you are not alone, bro.

  3. How was the quality of the laser disc?

  4. Pingback: Top 5 Road Trip Movies | The Movie Brothers

  5. The podcast was interesting (haven’t heard the first). As I stated on Twitter I don’t agree on your choice about Alien vs. Aliens. I recently saw both for the first time. My review of the first one is already up on the My Filmviews blog, the second one will be up next week where I also compare it to the first one.

  6. Paths of Glory is my favorite film ever. We did a series called Films that Defined Us, and Paths of Glory was on my list. http://themoviebros.com/2010/09/12/movies-that-defined-us/

    • My review of Paths of Glory will be up next week on wednesday. I liked it although I did think it was too short and should have added a bit more depth, I wasn’t totally statisfied after watching it, but did think the film has some amazing shots.

  7. Pingback: Funny People | The Movie Brothers

  8. Guys! Email us at info@cinemaobsessed.com we’d love to be a guest in the podcast!

  9. Can’t believe it took me this long to listen to it, but I did finally (couldn’t even hear the first one) and I loved it. Thanks for the great plug, guys and thank you, Brian, for the gracious comments about my writing. There’s some great analysis all the way around with this podcast. Just a couple of notes:

    1. Couldn’t agree with you guys more about Clive Owen. Reminds me of Gary Cooper in both appearance and diversity in roles. Loved ‘Children of Men’ and more recently ‘The International’ which is a great edge-of-your- seat thriller.

    2. I am in the same boat with you guys about doing sequels for dated franchises. Do we really need another Top Gun (and I hope Tony Scott was kidding about the 2 hours of nothing but a kid with a joystick flying a drone). Sorry, but it doesn’t work. What next? ‘Ferris Bueller’s Day Off II” where Matthew Broderick calls in sick to work?

    3. LaserDisc is awful. the best thing about my player was that I got it free, paid for $40 for 10 movies I had and sold the whole thing for $100 on eBay.

    4. The analysis of the ‘Back to the Future’ Trilogy is spot-on (except, I think III is better than II). I just got the set last week and it’s like watching it for the first time. The themes and character are more relatable and there’s a lot more humor and adult comedy that I never understood as a kid.

    As for the transfers, they are fantastic and BTtF: III is visually one of the best Blu-Rays I’ve ever seen. I was blown away by it.

    Matt FYI: The sequels were NOT written in advance. They did not know that there would be a sequel at the end of the first film. Everything was very cautious about the film because it took a lot of work to bring it to the big screen to begin with (with it being panned by studio after studio) and truthfully, even Universal was lukewarm to it before release. It wasn’t until its huge opening that Universal said “start writing sequels.” All of this is on the BD Special Features.

    Trivia: Eric Stoltz was originally cast as Marty McFly and they shot six weeks with him in the role. They show clips with Stoltz as McFly on the Special Features. Waaaaay bizarre to watch.

    5. ‘Get Him to the Greek’ is awful with little no no redeeming value whatsoever. The only funny scene in the flick is the party scene with P. Diddy.

    Russell Brand is the worst piece of shit to show his face on television or film for the last twenty years. THAT guy gets to bang Katy Perry on a regular basis? The ‘Tastic says ‘Eff You, Russell Brand.’

Leave a Reply

