Funny People

Famous and wealthy funnyman George Simmons (Adam Sandler) doesn’t give much thought to how he treats people until a doctor (Torsten Voges) delivers stunning health news, forcing George to reevaluate his priorities with a little help from aspiring stand-up comic Ira (Seth Rogen). Judd Apatow (Knocked Up) writes and directs this moving comedy that also stars Leslie Mann, Jonah Hill, Jason Schwartzman and Aubrey Plaza. Directed by Judd Apatow (40 Year Old Virgin, Knocked Up).

Kyle
Rating: 7 out of 10

As we mentioned briefly in our second episode of the podcast, there are good Apatow films and bad ones. The only trend that I notice is that the bad ones are usually the film he produces and not writes and/or directs. Luckily, we at The Movie Brothers categorize “Funny People” as a good Apatow film.

I really enjoyed this movie in that it included a very perfect blend of comedy and drama. Many people were disappointed in that this wasn’t a constant laugh-out-loud experience, which it isn’t but all of Apatow films aren’t going be like “The 40 Year Old Virgin” in that respect. Just because it isn’t 100% comedy doesn’t make it a bad film. I really liked the issues tackled in this film mainly because I haven’t seen them in other films; like the consequences of stardom, struggling with a career, relationship issues, the girl that got away, etc. Perhaps some of these issues are used in other films but this film just blends them together differently and in realistic manner.

Additionally, I was very pleased with Adam Sandler’s performance. I was briefly worried that this would be another unfunny Adam Sandler character of the last decade but as soon as I saw the trailer I knew he was going to be playing a different character. The only thing that that could have been changed would be the story and editing. Some of the subplots could have been removed or at least trimmed.

6 responses to “Funny People

  1. I agree that it depends on your expectations whether you will like this movie, but with a title like that you would expect a lot of funny stuff. In that respect I thought the movie was disappointing and in the end I didn’t really like it. Gave it a 5 (out of 10).

  2. I thought the title was ironic and smart. Often, comedian are the saddest and most troubled people — Richard Pryor for instance.

  3. I can’t agree more. It was not the hysterical movie of Gilmore or Ancient Virginity olde. It was however what feels like a real look into the interpersonal relationships that may come with life as a comic. I very much enjoyed the movie but I cautiously recommend it because of how people perceive what it might be versus what it really is. I also have to caution regarding the foul language. Though we have all heard it, and I think that it’s extreme use in this film may actually reflect daily life in the sphere of comedians, it’s a bit strong for many viewers – especially if they are ready for the USA Network/FCC/MPAA/Blue-Law censorship edit when they are viewing a film.
    Yet again, I am thrilled to be a blog follower of These Movie Bros

  4. Hey Josh,

    Thanks for the comments and thanks for reading! Keep up the great work!

  5. I loved the movie. So funny! “All you do is talk about jacking off and farting!” HILARIOUS! I’m trying to get more fans, look at my profile if you want to read a review of the new Russell Crowe movie “The Next Three Days.” 🙂

  6. I enjoyed the movie, but one of my friends put it best when he said ‘It’s like being in Judd Apatow’s house. Like literally just sitting there and watching his family for 2.5 hours.’ Yeah, coulda used a little editing…and it’s true that there’s a huge link between being funny and being miserable, but I think Apatow may have fallen a little into the ‘now I’m really trying to be serious’ trap with this one.

Leave a Reply

