The Plague Dogs

Making a compelling case for animal rights, this disturbing animated feature chronicles the plight of two dogs who become the focus of an intense manhunt after escaping from a research lab where they were subjected to cruel and pointless tests. To keep citizens from capturing or sheltering the canines, authorities lie to the newspapers, claiming that the dogs may be carrying bubonic plague. Celebrity voices include John Hurt and Nigel Hawthorne.

Matt
Rating: 8 out of 10

This is one of the hardest movies I’ve watched in a long time. It’s unrelenting in its darkness from the very first scene to the last. This is NOT a film for children, at all. Don’t let the animation fool you.

There are many hard scenes to watch, from animal testing in the lab to seeing two dogs endure brutal weather and conditions as they are hunted down. It’s a simple story of two dogs who escape an animal testing lab and try to survive. But it is brutally honest in the treatment of animals and what dogs would have to go through to survive.

There are so many layers in this film. On the surface it’s an animal rights piece. But dig a little deeper and it’s about humanity, the lack of it, faith, friendship, devotion, and left me questioning what freedom truly is. This movie has stayed with me since I watched it. At first, I thought about giving it a 6 out of 10, but the final scene has been stuck in my head since I watched it. I loved this movie, but it’s not for everyone. After my wife and I watched it, with our new puppy curled up at our feet, my wife turned to me with teary eyes and said, “I never want to watch this movie again. Ever!” I can’t say that I blame her.

Leave a Reply

