Bedknobs and Broomsticks

During World War II, eccentric, self-styled witch Eglantine Price (Angela Lansbury) aims to use her newfound powers to ward off a Nazi incursion of England. But she’s saddled with a trio of refugee siblings from London who need her protection, too. To win them over, she pulls off an assortment of tricks and takes them on a fantastical adventure to the Isle of Naboombu. This live-action Disney classic won an Oscar for its visual effects.

Matt
Rating: 5 out of 10

When I was kid, I adored this movie. All the witchcraft, traveling around on a flying bed, talking animals, spells, fighting Nazis. It’s the kind of imagination Disney could never use today in fear of being chased down by far right-wing religious wackos claiming the film was satanic.

This film would also never fly with this generation’s children. It’s seldom I walk into a grocery store and see children with their eyes in other places than their parent’s ipod or hand-held video game. This film was ambitious, with a running time of 2 hours 19 minutes, and full of big musical numbers — dancing and singing galore. I couldn’t see children sitting through this movie because it drags a bit, which pulled the rating down.

In truth, I struggled a bit to watch this, too. Seeing this for the first time as an adult made me notice how slow the first reel is. It took a long time to get to the best parts of this film. It made me wonder, am I a hypocrite for being this curmudgeonly? Perhaps. But I did manage to sit through this without looking at an iphone.

11 responses to “Bedknobs and Broomsticks

  1. Is it really necessary to not only attack people for their politics but for their faith as well? Sorry, but the Harry Potter films have a lot more dark witchcraft in them than this and they continue to be produced and gross billions despite the minuscule segment of the population that objects.

    Point: Fail. Ad Hominem Attack: Fail.

  2. Bookmarked, I love your site! 🙂

  3. This is a fantastic review, I must say. I also have to point out that Shawn is a right-wing wacko. You’d have to be to defend them. I mean, that’s the right-wing base! Bedknobs and Broomsticks is one of my favorites, and I like it more than you did. My kids like it, too. Thank Muhammad for intelligent people like you who tell it like it is. The right is always bringing down creativity and expression. Sounds like… hmmm… communism? Yup, that’s it. Shawn, don’t you have anything better to do than defend these right-wing nut jobs and harass a man on his website that, clearly, you don’t even know? Go back to Alabama, or whatever red state you come from. I pray for your children, and ask Muhammad to bring them grace. Praise Ala.

    • Shawn and I are just joking. Please don’t take this seriously, Aileen.

    • HA! Matt, this is the best post EVER on either one of our sites! 🙂

      Hey, Fruitcake Aileen, chill out. We’re just having fun. And who the heck is Ala? Is her last name Mode and does she sit next to my apple pie? Or is her last name Carte and is she listed individually on a menu? Sim Sala Bim! See that! I put a hex on YOU! I learned that from watching Johnny Quest! I fart in your general direction! I learned that from the French Knights who guard the castle in Monty Python and The Holy Grail! I’ve got mad skills with a Bo Staff thanks to Napoleon Dynamite!

      See, I can do crazy just as well as you can!

      Matt is indeed my cousin and a regular contributor on my site, TV-Tastic, in fact here’s the latest piece he wrote for me, a review of Jim Henson’s The Storyteller. We’re both from New York, Sunshine, and now we both live in Las Vegas. He’s married to my wife’s cousin. I’m pretty sure most of this information is available on our pages. Do you not notice the link to TV-Tastic on the side of this blog? Anything else nutty you want to contribute, there, Aileen?

      Not that it really matters, but I didn’t defend anything. Matt was making vague generalizations and about people because of their faith and political affiliations with nothing to back it up. It was kind of off-putting. Not as off-putting as your wonderful tirade about Allie or whatever her name is, but off-putting nonetheless, but I don’t know how you could assume anything about my political affiliation from that. Oh, waitaminute… yes I do…that’s right…YOU’RE CRAZY.

  4. Shawn, you’re clearly a racist. You are racist against me for being a Muslim and you are sexist as well. It’s right-wingers like you who are pulling down the moral fabric of society. Thank the almighty Muhammad for his many blessings, but the right is not one of them. You may want to control the rights women have to their bodies, but you can’t control what I say. And I say you are clearly a dimwitted fool. Your only rebuttal is to insult my religious beliefs and dismiss me as crazy. I’m the clarity you are missing so greatly in your life. It’s clear your cousin is much smarter than you. He’s not the one insulting people and throwing out garbage of the mouth at people’s faiths. You are everything wrong with America, the right wing base, and are probably hiding in a bunker with a heap of guns waiting for the race war to start. Stay in Nevada… a red state.

  5. Shawn, why is it that you can’t see the humor in the world? What happened to your heart? I think you could find healing and love in Islam. Open the Qur’an and open your heart. There is much love in this world. You can leave all your anger behind, the dirty GOP money, and that closed way of thinking. Walk through the door to enlightenment, walk with the prophet Muhammad.

Leave a Reply

