Will the Next Spider-Man Be ‘Amazing?’

Kyle

Sony Pictures released another photo this week of Andrew Garfield as Spider-Man, a release date of July 3, 2012 and the title “The Amazing Spider-Man.” As you can tell from the photo above, looks like Parker will actually be making his web shooters like in the comics.

From what I’ve seen with photos and have been reading, looks like the new-new Spider-Man is going to probably be like the upcoming “X-Men: First Class” in that there’s a young cast, the crew seem like they really want to stay true to the comic, and it’s a very recent reimagining of the previous franchise. Spider-Man Turd was horrendous and it took me three trips to the movies to convince the Spider-Man fanatic side of me that it was bad.

After some extensive Googling, I can’t seem to find if Garfield, cast in the title role, has signed a contract for three films. Luckily, he doesn’t want to be stained as Spider-Man and wants to remain a respectable, working actor who doesn’t do huge blockbusters. If he really means this, he might want to be careful what he chooses to take on after “The Amazing Spider-Man” comes out as he already was in the very successful “The Social Network.” We all know, even if it’s terrible like SM3, it still will make box office bucks.

3 responses to “Will the Next Spider-Man Be ‘Amazing?’

  1. I completely agree about SM3, and would like to add XMen3 to that list. Both movies suffered from the studio wanting to make movies bigger and badder then the previous ones.

    I love Andrew Garfield in this role, I love the web shooters, and I love the nod title to the Spider-Man’s original series. Very excited for both this and XFirstClass, though I will always be skeptical of any comic book movie until I actually see it.

    -Jesse

  2. Jesse, I couldn’t agree with you any more. You read my mind exactly.

  3. We’ll see. It won’t be hard to beat #2!

Leave a Reply

