Amazing Spider-Man trailer leaked

Kyle

As some of you may know, I’m a huge Spider-Man fan. He’s my favorite comic book character in the Marvel universe. He’s a smart and misunderstood kid who gains superhuman abilities and, after an incident involving his uncle, tries to make the best of it, as hard at times as it can be. Even as Spider-Man, he was never is well liked or trusted.

I was not disappointed from what I saw after watching the trailer. Marc Webb is definitely coming at this with a different approach. I wasn’t quite sure what to expect seeing as he had just finished “500 Days of Summer.”

The trailer began with Parker’s parents going away. I’m not sure if this essential to the story, a flashback or a brief introduction but I’m really hoping it’s essential to the story. None of the three films went into Parker’s past with his parents but from the comics, there’s a lot there. Anyway, there are cuts of him in school, at home, and of course him going to where he meets his fate. In those images, Gwen Stacy (Emma Stone) is wearing a lab coat, which pretty much shows they’re being consistent in the comics with her pursue of science (unlike in SM3); she is also the first love of Peter.

The one thing that threw me off, though, was at the end of the clip. Yesterday I read on First Showing that Webb was trying to do as many effects physically as opposed to CG; which took them months to capture. What threw me off was the clip was a first-person shot of Webhead swinging about NYC, obviously using lots of CG. I’m guessing this is one of the few shots that they had to succumb to using CG. It is heartening to read a director trying to avoid CG on their film (didn’t Lucas give Jackson shit for not using CG in LotR?). Spider-Man is probably the worst superhero character to shoot a movie with regards to trying to avoid a lot of CG because of his abilities and all the web-slinging he does.
Even though I am getting sick of the reboots, remakes, prequels, sequels, and adaptations, Spider-Man is one I will never get sick of… wait, I said the same thing prior to seeing SM3. Oh shit. Let’s cross our fingers for no SM3, you guys.

2 responses to “Amazing Spider-Man trailer leaked

  1. (/late) Admittedly, I’m not as big on SpiderMan to start with, but this trailer…it didn’t do too much for me. I think Garfield is a great actor, as is Emma Stone, so I look forward to those parts, but the trailer didn’t show enough. Where was The Lizard? Even if only a quick flash that people have to pause in order to really see. And the ending…it doesn’t give a good first impression. It’s in 3D, so that’s cool and it probably looks great, but that CG does not look all that good. Hopefully they either 1) improve that or 2) don’t have too many first person shots like that.

    I don’t know. I’ll be seeing the film, probably at midnight, but I think they could have done a better job with the first trailer. Same that is sad for Dark Knight Rises, heh.

    Great blog, dude, keep it up!

  2. I’m excited to see them use less CG. Too much can be overwhelming depending on the film. Like I said, it’s hard to avoid with Webhead.

Leave a Reply

