Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2

In the second installment of the two-part conclusion to the überpopular Harry Potter series, Harry (Daniel Radcliffe) and his best friends, Ron (Rupert Grint) and Hermione (Emma Watson), continue their quest to vanquish the evil Voldemort (Ralph Fiennes) once and for all. Just as things begin to look hopeless for the young wizards, Harry discovers a trio of magical objects that endow him with powers to rival Voldemort’s formidable skills.

Brian
Rating: 10 out of 10

I have to give credit to both J.K. Rowling and director David Yates. They were given the almost impossible task of resolving all the plot threads from the first 6 books and 7 movies and make it interesting and fun at the same time. Well, they didn’t just hit a home run but a grand slam. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 is not only the best film in the entire Harry Potter series but it’s the best film thus far of 2011. In a way, it’s a bit of a relief considering the first part of Deathly Hallows was such a bore. In many ways, it reminded me of Kill Bill Part 1 and 2 in that the two halves feel like completely different movies. Part 1 had tons of dialogue and superfluous scenes where part 2 does not have one wasted moment. The action, storytelling, direction, acting, and writing are top notch all the way around and the last hour is jaw dropping and powerful. We have watched these characters grow from young kids to young adults and for those that are emotionally invested in the series; you’re the beneficiary of great storytelling. It’s difficult for me to expound without spoilers, so I won’t. All I can say is get to your local theaters and witness fantasy film greatness.

Side note: I saw the film in 3D mainly because of time constraints and it was a complete waste of time visually. I highly recommend a 2D showing if you can see it in that format. It’s cheaper too!

16 responses to “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2

  1. I totally agree 2D is far superior. The movie is so dark, that I can’t imagine 3D lending any kind of “extra help” in watching. There’s definitely some great storytelling going on. For those who have read the books, it’s a little bit of a letdown with so many shortened and altered scenes. In fact, so many big things are changed, it’s almost frustrating in parts. But overall, as a film, it’s a great piece of work. I would definitely agree it’s the best Harry Potter film as well as the best film of the year thus far, however. I think the end scene was one of the BEST end scenes EVER for a film series.

  2. Saw this last in 2D and was so astounded. I have read all of the books, cover to cover, front to back, and I honestly was not disappointed. Mostly I feel lucky that I know the books so well and can fill in the blanks the movies leave (maybe that’s unfair, but hey!). And at this point, they almost seem like two different monsters. The movies are almost an entirely different entity from the books. Artistically they have become their own thing, and I love that.

    • People have to look at books and movies as two separate mediums. It’s impossible to get everything into a movie from a book, let alone an epic series like Potter. Lord of the Rings is another example of that. It was impossible to fit all of the songs and poems and odd little characters along the way.

      On the flip side, movies can be too much of a direct port from a book. I think The Hobbit will suffer from this. They’re making two movies from a 175 page book.

    • As a side note, did you know Joss Whedon is directing The Avengers movie, due out in March?

  3. Harry Potter SUCKS!
    He’s the most useless & stupid (shit) character created.
    Harry Potter is scum, dumb moron & gangster asshole.(His brainless fans, actors & actresses, J.K. Rowling, etc are weak-minded, sore losers with low IQ)
    All of his books, movies, etc are all shit, all dump, garbage, rubbish & suck-ass.
    He must be removed from this face of this planet.
    Harry Potter & J.K. Rowling (& their fans, forever) SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS, SUCKS & SUCKS!

  4. Saw it last night. Soooo good.

  5. Wow. Is Anonymous1 TMB’s first dipshit commenter?

  6. So, anonymous, would you see it again?

  7. WARNING SPOILER ALERT!!

    I absolutely loved this movie, not only because it’s Harry Potter but because of the things they added just to make it interesting.For instance the added memories that made Snape’s death all that much more sad. Just like they did with Dobby’s death in the first part. They made the book real, and it was amazing. Also McGonagal was totally BA.

    I agree with this 10 out of 10 rating. I would totally see it again if I had the extra money.

  8. Hi, I love the Harry Potter books and the movies and think they’re so well produced with such imagination and creativity. But, I felt strangely dissatisfied with this film – not as a film itself and no doubt I would have loved it if I hadn’t read the books – and I can’t quite put my finger on why I feel like that, but there it is! I don’t think ‘anonymous’ liked it very much although tries s/he tries to disguise it – such an eleoquent review! I agree with you about 3D. I really don’t like it and it makes me feel headachy or feel like I have travel sickness!
    Great review. Ta
    Lynn 😀

Leave a Reply

