Looper

Joseph Gordon-Levitt; Bruce WillisIn the year 2042, Joe (Joseph Gordon-Levitt) is a Looper, a hired assassin for the mob who kills people sent from the future. But what will he do when the mob decides to “close the loop,” sending back Joe’s future self (Bruce Willis) for assassination?

Matt
Rating: 6 out of 10

I expected more from this movie. The concept rocked.

Bad people from the future send people back in the past they need killed through a time machine There is a person waiting for them, called a looper, who shoots them and collects some gold strapped to them. OK, I’m game.

But what happens during this film is a lot of nothing. It’s boring, with unneeded characters who flush out what should have been a short, more action oriented movie. I can’t believe I’m saying that, but yes, it’s true. Looper drags. I expected more from this film, because it got rave reviews. I like Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Bruce Willis a lot. And while they both are good in the film, it suffers from a slow-movie script and a director that was over thinking it a bit. It’s also way darker than I anticipated — maybe I shouldn’t have, based on the premise — but it was.

Not a terrible film, but it drags at parts and left me wanting something different.

9 responses to “Looper

  1. Finally someone who didn’t think it was the best thing ever! Thank you 😀

  2. I’m not saying it was the best thing ever, but I did highly enjoy it. I liked the concept, the story, how they fleshed things out and explained things that really didn’t seem important until later. And I have to say that Joseph Gordon-Levitt was terrific as a younger Bruce Willis. And I give props to the makeup artists as well, but Joseph has Bruce down pat. Some people are very expressive, others are subtle about it. Bruce Willis is subtle and Joseph did an awesome job.

    Again, not saying it’s the best things ever, but I feel I gotta give props where I think they’re due.

    • Thanks for reading, and thanks for your post. Joseph Gordon-Levitt definitely did a great job. He nailed the subtle facial features, like Bruce’s crooked smile. But I think it was too slow. The acting couldn’t get past the slow nature of the script and direction. Great acting, though. Not the worst movie I’ve ever seen, but a 6 out of 10 is just how I feel. Thanks for reading!

  3. Nice review. The writing and directing are in top-notch form where everything keeps you riveted and compelled, but there was that certain element of human-drama that just seemed to be missing. I don’t know where it went or why it didn’t come to me, but it just didn’t and made me feel like I was missing out on something in the end.

  4. Cool review. I recently started my own film blog and would love some input. If you or anyone could check it out, I would greatly appreciate it.

    • You have a great page, monster1711. Keep up the great work and thanks for stopping by and checking out The Movie Bros!

  5. Yes yes yes! Made me want to jump back in time grab the story line and give the film direction and depth!

Leave a Reply

